BSREC identity
Twelve National Conferences/Workshops will be organized until the end of June 2013 in the beneficiar...
Latest Projects
The projects aims at the development and evaluation of mitigation/adaptation policy portfolios and a...
The electricity generated from renewable energy sources will play an important role in reachi...

The Black Sea Regional Energy Centre (BSREC) was inaugurated in 1995 following the Chalkidiki Ministerial Meeting, held in 1994 in Greece.

The establishment of the Centre was a joint initiative of the European Commission, under its SYNERGY Programme, and the countries of the Black Sea region, i.e. Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bulgaria, Georgia, Greece, Moldova, Romania, Russia, Turkey and Ukraine. Since 1999, the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, and since 2001, Serbia have become members of the BSREC as well.

BSREC was registered in Sofia, Bulgaria, accodring to the legislation of its host country.

The Black Sea Regional Energy Centre acts as a focal point for energy related activities, aimed at the development of co-operation between the Black Sea region countries and the EU in the energy field. Apart from its international activities, the BSREC is actively involved in the Bulgarian energy issues, acting as a Bulgarian energy society.

The BSREC is governed by a Steering Committee - a 13-member multinational decision-making body. The Steering Committee is composed of one delegate from each Black Sea country, nominated by the Minister responsible for energy of the respective country.

The Centre is occupying permanently in Sofia seven persons, approved by the Steering Committee. Additionally, the BSREC has a wide network of high-level energy experts providing services to the Centre, which enables the good co-operation among the energy market players, including energy sector organizations, ministries, public and private enterprises and individuals in the whole Black Sea region, and thus ensures the opportunity to meet the actual needs of the energy market actors from the Black Sea countries.